Virginia Tech®home

Faculty, Staff & Student Leadership

Faculty and staff leadership has an important role in defining the residential college experience by bridging the proverbial curricular/co-curricular gap, thereby strengthening the academic and intellectual climate of the community.  While different universities use different nomenclature for their residential college administrative structure, all emphasize the importance of faculty presence. At Virginia Tech, the Faculty Principal, Student Life Coordinator, and Administrative Graduate Fellow all live in the community and provide guidance and support for the student leadership. In addition, there is a Project Specialist and Area Office Manager that work in the building and provide support for both of the residential colleges in Ambler Johnston Hall.

HRC Faculty and Staff

Photo of Dr. Natalie Cook

Dr. Natalie Cook
Faculty Principal

Photo of Tanner Cooper

Tanner Cooper 
Student Life Coordinator

Photo of Mohannad "Mo" Ismail

Mohannad "Mo" Ismail
Graduate Fellow

Affiliated Staff

The following individuals have offices in Ambler Johnston Hall and provide direct support to Honors Residential Commons operations:

Maggie HolmesArea Office Manager
Ambler Johnston Hall 1316,, 540-231-5018

Student Leadership

The Honors Residential Commons has a robust, shared-leadership approach to self–governance. The formal leadership structures include the Commons Council (elected by popular vote of the HRC fellowship), Resident Advisors (selected through a rigorous hiring process), and Apartment Fellows (appointed based on group application and interviews). All of these student leaders work together to steward the mission of the residential college. In fact, every student, regardless of their age, year, or position, is a leader within the Honors Residential Commons. There is no limit to what each student can do or contribute, and because of that every student is encouraged to make a difference in the community.

Clare Sawyer, President
Cora Meno, Vice President
Claire Doody, Historian
Sydney Weeks, Secretary
Sahil Gullapalli, Treasurer
Berk Tombuloglu, Director of Academic Enrichment 
Kylie Arnold, Director of Communication
Sam Warner, Director of Programming
Michael Marciano, Director of Service Initiatives
Matt Foran, Apartment Fellow at Large
Momna Kiani, Junior Fellow at Large
William Poland, RA at Large

Isaac Riddle, 2nd Low
Kourtney Phillips, 2nd High
Tyler Pugh, 3rd Low
Ryan Odibo, 3rd High
Aria Hill, 4th Low
William Poland, 4th High
Rachel Lake, 5th Low
Nick Covington, 5th High
Rishi Patel, 6th Low
Beyonce Andrades, 6th High


4th High
Vincent Bui
Michael Marciano
Johann Ruiz
Peter Tozzi

4th Low

Kylie Arnold
Jordan Jones
Anisha Sabbe 
Katie Smith

5th High
Kiyah Costin
Natilyn Mann
Jyotsna Rathinam
Clare Sawyer

5th Low
Will Hupfeldt
Nathan Schlundt
Chris Snyder
Eric Williams

6th High
Drew Caylor
Matt Foran
Sahil Gullapalli
Minwu Kim

6th Low
Claire Doody
Vanessa Eichenseir
Olivia Ferrare
Noelle Hodges